~camera cake~

What kind of cake do you make for someone who is photography mad?

This was my first attempt at cake shaping and decorating, forgot to add the candles for the photo…..

The basic cake is the luscious lemon loaf and as the icing is pretty sweet, I didn’t split the cake into layers and add any extra icing. I did however, cover the sponge with a thin layer of lemon butter icing to make the fondant stick easier and the lemony tang was lovely with the sweet icing!

It was fun to do, maybe I could do another one when it’s someone else’s birthday!

5 Comments

Filed under cakes

5 responses to “~camera cake~

  1. Hey great post! Its fab to see people getting creative with baking. We love everything to do with cakes and afternoon tea, you might like our Easter inspired post on crazy recipes using cadbury’s creme eggs!
    http://teaandsympathynewyork.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/happy-easter-5-craziest-creme-egg-recipes/
    Enjoy.x

  2. Oh! my daughter works for a photo website– They may need one of these in their office next time I visit! Thanks for the post.

  3. Wow! It’s really nice! And for a first attempt on carving…! You’re brave! I carved my first cake when I was about 13 and since then I have never tried it again – I’m 41, by the way. I’m impressed!

what do you think?

