~ginger cake~

This is a big ginger cake –  easy, and fast using the melt-and-mix method!  It has a good gingery taste but is not overpowering.

 Ingredients also include cinnamon and pieces of crystallised ginger.

The lemony icing adds that little something to this ginger cake, but isn’t really necessary.

Ingredients : for 20cm round cake

Preparation time : 10 mins

Oven time : 50 mins

225g self-raising flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tbsp ground  ginger

85g  crystallised ginger, chopped

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp mixed spice

115g  butter, cubed

115g  muscovado sugar

115g  treacle

115g golden syrup

250ml  milk

1 egg

How to: Put the butter, sugar, treacle, golden syrup and milk in a pan and heat whilst stirring until everything has dissolved and is well blended. In a large bowl, use a wooden spoon to mix the flour, bicarb. soda, gingers (powdered and crystallised), cinnamon and mixed spice. Next, pour the butter mixture into the flour mixture and stir until everything is combined. Finally crack the egg into the bowl and using a fork, beat everything together. Pour the cake batter into a grease proof paper lined round tin (about 20cm) and bake at 180 for 50 mins. A skewer poked into the cake should come out clean when the cake is baked.

The ginger cake is lovely and moist and is nice eaten just as it is but it’s also great when a lemon glacé icing (icing sugar and lemon juice) is drizzled over the top after it has cooled. Also great served for dessert with custard on a cold rainy day!

 The cake can be cooled, wrapped in cling film and frozen before it is iced or  it can be stored in a tin or wrapped in tin-foil for a week or so and tastes even better after a few days.

20 Comments

Filed under cakes, Christmas, Dessert

20 responses to “~ginger cake~

  1. This looks absolutely delicious!

  2. BreOfficialBlog

    I do not believe I have ever..had Ginger Cake but this looks Really Good!

  3. yum! looks and sounds soooo good.

  4. love spice cake– thanks for the recipe!

  5. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and liking my post, Candy! This cake looks beautiful and moist…and what a gorgeous hue! I like the drippy sugary icing in top too. I love ginger biscuits and have been wanting make a spice cake, this recipe will serve as a great platform to begin 🙂

  6. I love anything ginger-y and this looks amazing!

  7. I like ginger cake anytime of the year! A place here in Denver called Bang makes an amazing one. I will def be putting this one on my to make list 🙂
    http://www.glitzgirlzglamourguide.com

  8. I have made your special & tasty ginger cake & my husband & I loved it so much! A huge thanks to you !! xxx

  9. I’m glad I stopped by…I love ginger cake. Yours sounds very good.

  10. I love melt-and-mix method, means no mixer required! Looks so easy and delicious, ginger is an ingredient I had not used in baking as I’m worried no one in my family would dare to eat a ginger cake… but I should try to bake one soon!

what do you think?

