~new year biscuits~

These simple biscuits were always made on new year’s eve at about 9 pm when it was boring to stay awake waiting for the midnight bells.

They can of course be made anytime and upon demand I baked a batch last week!

They are very easy and quick to make!

Ingredients: for about 50

380g plain flour (about 3 cups)

2tbsp baking powder

140 g butter (about 1 cup)

200g sugar (about 1 cup)

1 egg

vanilla sugar/extract

How to:  Use beaters to cream the butter and sugar together, then add the vanilla and egg. Combine the flour with the baking powder and gradually beat into the butter mixture until the dough is very stiff. Divide the dough into quarters to make cutting out easier. Taking a quarter at a time, use a rolling-pin to flatten the dough to about 1/2cm thick. Use cookie cutters to cut out the biscuits and lay them on grease proof paper lined baking trays. Bake for about 8 – 10 mins at 180°c until golden. Remove from oven, leave to cool and decorate or leave nude!

Enjoy with a cuppa 🙂

12 Comments

Filed under biscuits/cookies, Christmas

12 responses to “~new year biscuits~

  1. they all look very appetizing & festive too! Yummm! xxx

  2. thanks, I was happy when my daughter asked if I could take her some of these when I went to visit her last week 🙂

  3. petit4chocolatier

    I love these! They are very exquisite!

  4. These are so cute! Love the decoration 🙂

  5. I am going to make these as soon as I get a minute. I made biscuits for the first time on Saturday but I fear – now that I know how simple they are – that it could turn into an obsession. Thanks for the recipe! x

  6. love these Candy – especially the hearts drizzled in white and dark chocolate.

what do you think?

