~meringues~

I had 4 egg whites left over after making a tray full of posh jammy biscuits

so I made some meringues!

This meringue recipe is so simple and quick I don’t know why I don’t make them more often.

Only 2 ingredients!

Crunchy clouds with a soft center!

Ingredients : for  about 20

Preparation time : 10 mins

Oven time : 1 hour plus cooling time

4 egg whites

200g sugar

How to: Turn the fan oven on to 130°C (regular oven to 150°c), then beat the egg whites in a large clean bowl until foamy and stiff and the egg whites stand up on their own.  Add the sugar bit by bit whisking after each addition until the meringue is thick and glossy and the sugar has completely dissolved. Spoon the meringue on to a lined baking tray, using small or large spoonfuls as you wish. Turn the oven down to 120°c (or 140°c) and bake the meringues for 1 hour, then turn the oven off but leave the meringues in the oven until they and the oven have cooled or even overnight.

They can be eaten straight from the oven or when cool and spread with cream. They can be used in this ice cream cake or served with fruit.

Meringues can be stored in an air tight box for a couple of weeks and it’s a good way to use up left over egg whites!

Posh jammy biscuits – a gorgeous shortbread type biscuit and raspberry jam! find my recipe here

17 Comments

Filed under Dessert, vegetarian

17 responses to “~meringues~

  1. Ooooo! Yummy, yummy! We were going to make this until came to the 200gram sugar part… A little too sugary for us!

    • yep, meringues are sugar high! You could try with less sugar, but not sure it’d work – I think the ratio sugar to egg white is pretty standard in most meringue/pavlova recipes 😦

  2. What a brilliant idea! I’ve wanted to try this before, no excuses now!

  3. I’ve completely failed with chewy centered meringues but have no problems with the crunchy throughout variety. It looks like your recipe varies the oven temps and times..I’ll give it another go…thanks!

  4. petit4chocolatier

    I have always wanted to prepare Meringues, but have been hesitant that they wouldn’t come out as delicious as these look!!

    • I think the trick is in the beating, making sure the sugar has completely dissolved but ensuring that the egg whites stay fluffy, hope you try some 🙂

  5. So pretty! My grandmother used to make these.

  6. Wow, you can make 20 meringues out of only 4 egg whites?? I have two egg whites left over…the next time I turn on the oven, I might have to toss those in…these look so lovely!

    • They are pretty quick, I don’t know why I don’t make them more often 🙂 2 egg whites and 100g of sugar makes more than enough for 2 people haha!

  7. Waw! Your meringues look so glorious & tasty too! A grand & very stylish recipe too!

  8. I’ve always wanted to try making cookies like this. Thanks for the inspiration! I’m going to give them a try soon! 😉

what do you think?

