~halloween tombstones~

I saw the idea and recipe for these on The Healthy Flavour blog last week and knew they’d be perfect for a Halloween treat!

The Healthy Flavour blog is full of great recipes of all sorts, and photos that just make you want to run to the kitchen, it’s so imaginative and vivid! Please check out her healthy blog. Thank you Brandi!

Brandi said these’d be quick to make and they were – delicious chocolaty crispy bite sized tombstones ready in 15 mins!

Only 3 ingredients – chocolate, rice crispies and a trace of oil!

Brandi made her tombstones in an ice-cube tray so I did the same – I must have used a tray for smaller ice cubes because I got twice as many as she did, but I found they were a perfect size to pop into the mouths of small children! Below follows the recipe where I have bumped up the quantity of rice crispies.

Ingredients : for about 20 tombstones

150g milk chocolate

35g rice crispies

1 tsp sunflower oil

How to: Spray or wipe two ice-cube trays with a tiny amount of oil. Melt the chocolate and tsp oil in the microwave (takes about 90 seconds, though best to do in 30 second bursts, stirring between bursts). Stir the rice crispies into the melted chocolate. Spoon the crispy/chocolate mix into the ice-cube moulds, filling each one about 2/3. Sprinkle additional rice crispies over the top of each cube, pressing down so that they stick. Freeze for 10 – 12 mins.

Take out of the freezer and remove “tombstones” by pressing on the underside of the ice-cube tray. The tombstones can either be decorated or left plain.

Tombstones and freaky fingers

Brandi has written beautifully on her tombstones, but due to lack of time and equipment I just mixed some icing sugar and milk and used a paint brush to paint on R I P as best I could 🙂

I found the Halloween printables here, reduced them in size, cut them out and quickly glued them to the tooth pick which I then poked into the tombstones as originally suggested.

These can be stored in an air-tight container for several days if the container is hidden, locked and alarmed!

4 Comments

Filed under biscuits/cookies, chocolate, no-bake

4 responses to “~halloween tombstones~

  1. Ok I’m trying to comment for the 10th time…my comments were going to spam!
    Thank you so much Candy! I’m so honored you tried them and they worked out for you! That means a lot. Thank you for featuring my recipe and blog! You rock! Yes, my ice cube trays have large molds which created big tombstones, lol! Thanks again 🙂

  2. hahahahahahha,..;they look adorable even! tasty too!

what do you think?

