~soft butter mints~

OOh these tiny soft mints are just perfect after a rich meal – these tiny minty pebbles just melt in your mouth!

CIMG7129

I found this recipe on Sweet 16’s country kitchen and made just one quarter of their recipe. I have recently discovered Sweet 16’s country kitchen blog and I have the feeling I’ll be visiting over and over again. Take a look for yourself, there are plenty of do-able recipes with lovely photos. Thanks Cookin’ Cow girl (wanna’be)!

CIMG7117

No baking, just mixing and resting!

Ingredients: makes about 40 mints, each about 1cm in diameter

20g soft butter

1/2 tbsp heavy cream or crème fraîche

1/4 tsp peppermint essence

tiny pinch of salt

110g icing sugar

How to : Beat the butter until pale then add the cream, peppermint and salt and beat again until everything is well mixed. Add the icing sugar bit by bit and continue beating until everything holds together – maybe several minutes in the processor. If the flavour isn’t strong enough add a bit more and beat until well incorporated.  Using your hands, take tiny amounts of the paste and roll into balls, place on grease proof paper and leave 12 hours to dry. Store the mints in an air-tight container in the fridge and try not to eat too many at once!

CIMG0063

This recipe is easily doubled or quadrupled.

They are very moreish and I think I’ll keep the larger quantities until I have guests for dinner!

23 Comments

Filed under Christmas, sweets/candy

23 responses to “~soft butter mints~

  1. Your Mints came-out just perfect! 🙂 I’m so glad to hear good results from my readers! 🙂

  2. Candy, mint is not my thing but the pictures are lovely.

  3. Yum Yum Yum & this is surely a very special recipe too!

  4. These sound soooo good! I’m definitely going to try them!

  5. petit4chocolatier

    Interesting and looks yummy!

  6. These are so sweet and pretty!

  7. Pingback: Homemade Buttermints | Sweet Leaf

  8. Mmm these really do look like they’d melt in your mouth! I bought peppermint essence for some cupcakes I made at Christmastime and haven’t used it since… Looks like I’ve found a good use for it! Can’t wait to try these =)

what do you think?

