~baked apple with mincemeat~

It’s not quite Spring weather yet so a hot baked apple was warming and perfect for lunch!

CIMG7350

I was very happy to find a jar of mincemeat left over from Christmas and so my apple was ready in no time!

CIMG7355

There really aren’t any ingredients, but this is nicer than a plain apple on cold days.

I cored 1 apple, then split the skin about a third of the way down and all the way round. I spooned the mincemeat into the hole where the core once was and also added a spoonful or 2 round the base so that I’d have extra if I wanted. I spooned over a tablespoon of water so that it wouldn’t be too dry and so I’d have some hot juice. Then I put it in the microwave and cooked on high for 3 minutes. This was perfect for a fluffy piping hot apple and the mincemeat was sweet and juicy.

When making more than 1 apple, I check after 3 minutes in the microwave and then increase minute-by-minute the cooking time (4 or 5 is good for 2 apples).

CIMG7358

I enjoyed this plain but it’s also great with vanilla ice-cream, pouring cream or crème fraîche and topped with a sprinkling of crushed almonds.

If you don’t have any mincemeat, it can be replaced with a mixture of glacé cherries, raisins, a knob of butter and a sprinkling of brown sugar.

14 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Dessert, fruity, no-bake, Uncategorized, vegetarian

14 responses to “~baked apple with mincemeat~

  1. That’s a really good idea as I have some mincemeat left over and was wondering what to do with it. Thanks!

  2. This looks so delicious! I have always been a big fan of baked apples and the addition of mincemeat looks wonderful!

  3. Yummy! I love it with some good vegan ice-cream on the side!

  4. Such a simple yet great recipe! Thank you, Candy. 🙂

  5. I love baked apples and stuff them with raisins. Using mincemeat is a great idea as it has so much flavor. I’ll remember your idea this fall when the apples in our orchard will be plentiful.

what do you think?

